Missionary Minded

Doctrine and Covenants 4:

1 Now behold, a marvelous work is about to come forth among the children of men.

2 Therefore, O ye that embark in the service of God, see that ye serve him with all your heart, might, mind and strength, that ye may stand blameless before God at the last day.

3 Therefore, if ye have desires to serve God ye are called to the work;

4 For behold the afield is white already to harvest; and lo, he that thrusteth in his sickle with his might, the same layeth up in store that he perisheth not, but bringeth salvation to his soul;

5 And faith, hope, charity and love, with an eye single to the glory of God, qualify him for the work.

6 Remember faith, virtue, knowledge, temperance, patience, brotherly kindness, godliness, charity, humility, diligence.

7 Ask, and ye shall receive; knock, and it shall be opened unto you. Amen.

I joined the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints in 2012. I am the only member in my immediate family. I have been called to serve a mission in the Montana Billings Mission. My mission started in October 2013 and will finish in April 2015. I do not know as much as those who have been members their whole lives, those who have grown up learning this gospel, those who pray with their families every morning and night and have gospel discussions during dinner, but I do know that this church is Christ’s true church restored on earth in these latter days. I do know that God loves His children and has not stopped speaking to us through prophets. I do know that The Book of Mormon is another testament of Jesus Christ translated by Joseph Smith through the power of the Holy Ghost, and it is a companion to the Holy Bible. I know this church has the fullness of the gospel and the restored priesthood power to act in God’s name for the salvation of His children. I have a testimony that this church changes lives for the better, and that through this church we can have eternal families.

I have a desire to serve God. I have faith, hope, charity and love, with an eye single to the glory of God. God does not call the qualified, but He qualifies who He calls. I am qualified to be a representative of Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

