The Love That Never Changes

There are many different types of love, but the greatest kind of love you can show someone is the love their Savior has for them–a love unfeigned and unconditional. I strive to love every single person in my life and let them know how important they are to me. There are many different forms of love, but when I say I love you to someone it will always mean the I respect them as a son or daughter of our Heavenly Father, and that I see their potential to be a king or queen.

As a society, we put so much pressure on love. I tell many people that I love them and I do not mean, “let’s spend the rest of our lives together I’m in love with you,” but that I see them the way Jesus Christ sees them–as a son or daughter of a glorious King, destined to become a great and glorious person.

This is not to say that it will be any less importantwhen I say it to the man i’m going to marry. When I do say it in that way it will mean the same thing–I see you filled with divine potential–but it will also mean that I see him as the worthy priesthood holder that Heavenly Father knows will help me to create my eternal family.

My little sister often used to say, “Nobody loves me,” when she didn’t get her way, which would break my heart because I love her quite a lot more than she realizes. We need to remember that loving someone does not mean you are obligated to do certain things for them or that they are obligated to do certain things for you. We must remember that loving someone does mean that you respect them, that you see their divine potential, that you know that Heavenly Father loves them, and that you are willing to help them in whatever righteous cause they hold dear.

There is a great children’s song, “I’m Trying to be Like Jesus” which talks about how to be like our Savior. Very simpoly put it tells us to “love one another as Jesus loves you, try to show kindness in all that you do, be gentle and loving in deed and in thought, for these are the things Jesus taught.”

In our mission as missionaries we end every conversation with “love ya, bye.” I feel that this is important because as representatives of Christ we should be striving to show everyone the love of Christ, even to our fellow missionaries. Because of this, I have decided to end all of my future correspondences with an expression of love for those people to whom I am writing. I tell a lot of people that I love them, not because I have lost the importance of that word, but because I truly know the importance of that word, and I am trying to be like my savior and redeemer Jesus Christ. Think about what love means to you, and tell those you love that you love them. And always remember that Jesus loves you,

and so do I.

 

Leave a Reply

