Believe Him, Don’t Just Believe IN Him

Recently, at a small “conference” we had with the other sister missionaries in our zone a question was posed: How many of you believe you are going to make it to the celestial kingdom? In response about half of the sisters raised their hands. The sister asking the question was very upset. “How can you go out teaching everyday that people have to do certain things–have faith, repent, be baptized, receive the Holy Ghost, and endure to the end–in order to make it to the celestial kingdom, when you don’t believe it yourself?!”  Often times, I find myself selling myself short. When I look at all of the things I need to do to make it to the celestial kingdom just as I’m promising others, I’m doing all of those things. What is it convincing me that I am not fit for that glory?

Satan!

In the April 1992 ensign there is a story by Stephen E. Robinson called Believing Christ that perfectly shows what I want to say here.

“I once counseled a man who said, “Bishop, I’m just not celestial material.” Well, I’d heard those words once too often, so I said, “You’re not celestial material? Welcome to the club. Not one of us is! Not one of us qualifies on our own for the presence of God. So why don’t you admit your real problem? Why don’t you admit that you don’t believe Christ can do what he says he can do?”

He got angry. “I have a testimony of Jesus!”

I said, “Yes, you believe in Christ. You simply do not believe Christ. He says that even though you are not celestial, he can make you celestial—but you don’t believe it.””

Satan will always have us believe that we are worthless, and we are, without the atonement of Christ. He can take us and make us worthy of that glory. It is not enough to say we believe in Christ, we must also believe that he CAN do what he says he can.

Leave a Reply

