The Sun Will Come Out Tomorrow, But If Tomorrow Never Comes

Often when we think of the plan of salvation we see it drawn out on the board before us, a circle for the premortal existence, a squiggle for the veil, a circle for earth life, a circle for the spirit world JUDGEMENT and three circles for the kingdoms of heaven. We then spend the whole time talking about the atonement, which is central to the plan of salvation and we rightly should be talking about it, but how often do we talk about the things we should be doing here because of that gift. My companion, when talking about the atonement, often says, “I cannot pay him back for what he did, but I can love him back and I can thank him back.” And I think that’s so powerful. So what are we doing to thank Jesus Christ and to show him that we are grateful for the gift that he has given us. He suffered every pain and sorrow that we have ever felt and will ever feel. He died that we may be redeemed from our sins. We should be bending over backwards to thank him for that.

When I was growing up I often heard the saying, “Why put off until tomorrow what can be done today.” As far as the drawing goes for the plan of salvation, I will be focusing my talk on the circle that represents earth life. Whenever we draw this all of the circles are the same size, but imagine if those circles were drawn in scale comparable to the amount of time they represent. Can you think how small earth life must be in comparison to the kingdoms of glory? We have such a small amount of time here to accomplish what we came here to accomplish.
“For behold, this life is the time for men to prepare to meet God; yea, behold the day of this life is the day for men to perform their labors.
“And now, … as ye have had so many witnesses, therefore, I beseech of you that ye do not procrastinate the day of your repentance until the end” (Alma 34:32–33).
Can we say that we are prepared to meet God if right now was the time for that?

We often hear or say the word someday. Someday I will marry a worthy priesthood holder, someday I will go on a mission, someday I will quit doing this and that and I will pray every morning…someday. President Eyring says in his April 2007 conference talk titled ‘this day,’ “There is a danger in the word someday when what it means is “not this day.”
The scriptures make the danger of delay clear. It is that we may discover that we have run out of time. The God who gives us each day as a treasure will require an accounting. We will weep, and He will weep, if we have intended to repent and to serve Him in tomorrows which never came or have dreamt of yesterdays where the opportunity to act was past. This day is a precious gift of God. The thought “Someday I will” can be a thief of the opportunities of time and the blessings of eternity.” I believe that’s absolutely true. We spend too much time thinking about the things we can do someday.

We should be thinking of what we can do right now. In the October 2007 conference Donald L. Hallstrom said this about “now.”
Now is the time to exercise our faith. Now is the time to commit to righteousness. Now is the time to do whatever is required to resolve our undesired circumstances. Now is the time to reconcile with God through the merciful process of change afforded us by the Redeemer of mankind. (Do It Now)

Now is the time to do these things. Why put off till tomorrow what can be done right now? Heavenly Father gave us all things, including time. We will be held accountable for our use of that time. The very first time I met with the missionaries hey asked me to be baptized. Is aid yes that night. My mom, who likes to think things through, was a little hesitant. “Are you sure you want to do this? Isn’t here weeks kind of soon.” I said, “No. I don’t think it’s soon enough.” I knew that I would do it, someday, so why not make that someday the soonest day possible. When I was thinking about a mission I thought, I could always go when I’m older and married…someday, but why not make that someday right now.

When thinking about this topic, two brothers came to mind. They show us how to do today and not procrastinate until tomorrow.
16″Now as he walked by the sea of Galilee, he saw Simon and Andrew his brother casting a net into the sea: for they were fishers. And Jesus said unto them, Come ye after me, and I will make you to become fishers of men. And straightway they forsook their nets, and followed him
(Mark 1:16-18).”
They did not hesitate. They immediately left their nets and followed Jesus Christ. How many of us can say that we would do that? Heavenly Father has given us his time to prepare to meet Him. We cannot procrastinate that preparation. And of course we cannot do everything to be ready right now today, but we can start right now today. We each need to decide today, do we love Him enough to do what he has asked? Are we grateful for the gift of the atonement. For without it, we would not have the opportunity to change, to decide to follow him today! we would forever be drowning in our sins. Let’s thank him for what he has given us. Right now. Start today. Don’t worry about what you can do tomorrow or next week, think about what you can do today,

Sybil F. Partridge wrote a poem titled Just for Today that speaks volumes.
Lord, for tomorrow and its needs,
I do not pray;
Keep me, my God, from stain of sin,
Just for today.
Let me both diligently work,
And duly pray.
Let me be kind in word and deed,
Just for today.
Let me be slow to do my will,
Prompt to obey;
Oh keep me in Thy loving care,
Just for today.
Let me no wrong or idle word,
Unthinking say,
Set Thou a seal upon my lips,
Just for today.
So, for tomorrow and its needs,
I do not pray;
But keep me, guide and love me, Lord
Just for today.

If today was all you had to prepare to meet God, would it be enough? I promise you that any changes you need to make, any decisions, any job that you need to do to prepare to meet God, can start today. Heavenly Father has given us this day, He has given us Jesus Christ, who through his atoning sacrifice has offered us the opportunity to see our Heavenly Father again. We must start thanking him back, today.

Moroni 9:6 …for we have a labor to perform whilst in this tabernacle of clay, that we may conquer the enemy of all righteousness, and rest our souls in the kingdom of God.

(Plan of Salvation)

Image

Leave a Reply

