An Example of the Believers

Sermons We See
Edgar A. Guest
“I’d rather see a sermon
than hear one any day,
I’d rather one would walk with me
than merely tell the way;
The eye’s a better pupil
and more willing than the ear,
Fine counsel is confusing,
but example’s always clear;
The best of all the preachers
are the men who live their creeds,
For to see good put in action
is what everybody needs.
I soon can learn to do it,
if you’ll let me see it done,
I can watch your hands in action,
your tongue too fast may run;
The lectures you deliver
may be very wise and true,
But I’d rather get my lessons
by observing what you do;
I may not understand
the high advice you give,
But there’s no misunderstanding
how you act and how you live.”
 
This poem was sent to me by my institute teacher back home. The first thought I have when I read it is that there are many different types of learners. Some people are audio learners, they can hear something and learn it, but some people visual learners they have to see you do it, or they’re kinesthetic learners and they have to do it to learn it. We, as missionaries, go out everyday and tell people about the gospel and we tell people that there are things that need to be done to make it to the celestial kingdom, but when we live what we believe, when we are examples of the gospel, then that gives those visual learners the ability to learn, and when we help them to live the gospel, that gives the kinesthetic learners their chance.
Be thou an example of the believers, in word, in conversation, in charity, in spirit, in faith, in purity (1 Timothy 4:12).” If we as members (and I as a missionary) become examples of this gospel, if we live what we believe that would speak far more volumes than telling people what we do. It’s like inception. We do things that then leads to their ideas of what we believe that then leads them to ask questions. It’s much more effective than if we tell them what we believe and wait until they have questions. So I would invite you all to live the standards that you believe. If I didn’t believe this church was true I wouldn’t be serving a mission so early in my membership. I know that by serving the Lord, I am showing others my faith in this gospel.
Sending out all my love to you.
Leave a Reply

