The Tenth Commandment Applies Today

Imagine:

You have a group of children. To each little girl you give a toy and tell them that they can always have their toy, but they can only play with them during play time. To each little boy you give a toy and tell them that they can only keep their toy if they are good, and if they share their toy with others, and never use their toy to hurt anyone or hold power over anyone who doesn’t have that toy, but as long as they do that they can always have their toys with them. Now the little boys have to work hard to keep their toy and the little girls get to use their toys whenever it’s play time. Eventually, the little girls decide they want the boys toy as well as their own toy. The little girls don’t see that their toy is just as special as the boys toy and that when used together with the boys their games can become far greater than they ever imagined.

 

Now let me tell you what I’m talking about. Men and Women were both given incredibly wonderful gifts to bless people with. We were given different ones that when used together can create wonderful families. To women was given the gift of child bearing, she is blessed with the gifts to nurture and care for the youth of the world. She has a powerful influence on those she raises. She is asked to only use this gift in the sacred bonds of marriage. To men was given the gift of the priesthood. They are blessed with the ability to hold God’s gift and they are asked to uphold a certain standard to be able to use that gift. They are asked to use that gift to bless others, and they are asked never to use that gift to hold power over someone. When used together the man and woman can help raise wonderful families in the gospel.

As an LDS woman, I feel incredibly blessed for the gift that I have. I get to be the first person to know my child on this earth. I get to form that special bond with my children that a father will never know. Men cannot have the gift that I have, so why would I want to have their gift as well as mine?

I may never know what it feels like to hold the priesthood, but I don’t feel like I need to. A man is given the priesthood to bless the lives of others. It is not a selfish gift. We do not need to hold the priesthood to have it. I have a lot of wonderful men and elders in my life who hold the priesthood. I can definitely say that I can have its blessing in my life.

I would invite each of you to think of your special gift from God, and be thankful for it.

Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s house, thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s wife, nor his manservant nor his maidservant, nor his ox, nor his ass, nor anything that is thy neighbor’s (Exodus 20:17).

All My ❤

Image

Leave a Reply

