Why I Serve This Day

Let me pose a question to you:

If God came down and said to you, “I know you have made certain plans for your life and they will make you good, but I need you to take a break from that because I offer you something that will make you great. Something that will bless you and your family. Something you will bless the families of others. Something you will never regret.” Would you look at Heavenly Father in that moment and say, “Well thanks, but no thanks. I’m content with what I’ve got going and I really need to finish this part of my plan before I do any of that.”

“Choose you this day whom ye will serve…but as for me and my house, we will serve The Lord (Joshua 24:15).”

It does not say choose tomorrow, or choose when it’s more convenient. It says to choose this day. I will never regret my decision to go on a mission. Yes I had a year of undergrad left and acceptance into a good master’s program. Yes I had four jobs lined up for the next semester. But guess what, all of that stuff will still be there, or something better will be there. I chose to serve God in the day that He asked me, and I will never be sorry for that.

For those of you who are “proud of what [I’m] doing but disappointed that [I] didn’t finish school first,” and I know there are a lot of you, I invite you to find the time to open your heart and turn to God and ask Him if this was His plan for me. I can testify to you that He answers prayers and that he will always give us what’s best for us. I chose to serve The Lord first. I chose to “seek…first the kingdom of God (Matthew 6:33).” I know that because I am here I am blessing the lives of many people in Montana. I hope that my family will see the blessings that they have received from my missionary service as well.

I invite each of you to read Matthew 6 or 3 Nephi 13, Matthew 28:19-20, and Alma 42:27

“Behold, I am a disciple of Jesus Christ, he son of God. I have been called of Him to declare His word among His people that they might have everlasting life (3 Nephi 5:13).”

 

I have great love and respect for each of you, but an even greater Love and respect for The Lord,

❤ Sister Emmalee A. Myers-Parraz

photo 2

Leave a Reply

