To Inherit the Kingdom of God

Repentance, baptism, receiving the gift of the Holy Ghost, and enduring to the end. What do those words mean to you? To any active Latter-Day Saint they can be recognized as the steps in the gospel of Jesus Christ. I was taught these steps as the steps of a ladder. You start with faith which leads up to repentance which will step up to baptism and receiving the gift of the Holy Ghost, and the last rung of the ladder is enduring to the end. But then I began to see it more as a circle because as we continually step forward we must always have faith and repent and remember our baptism and confirmation by partaking of the sacrament. Enduring to the end is a continual process of the living the gospel. So, after seven months on my mission, I’ve come to see the gospel of Christ not as a ladder nor as a circle, but as both: a winding staircase. As we progress forward, though it does come back around, we go higher each time–closer to our Heavenly Father.

stairs

Jesus Christ said that in his gospel “ye must repent, and be baptized in my name, and become as a little child, or ye can in nowise inherit the kingdom of God.” I’ve already once spoken about becoming as a little child, but want to talk more about it. What do I know about children? After working with children for three years I know a few things: they are honest, loving, they learn more easily, they are not as corrupted by the world as adults are, they are more ready to believe gospel truths. We must become as they are. We must be honest in our beliefs, loving towards all men, learn all that we can, strive to not be corrupted by our world, and be ready to believe gospel truths.

Why do I tell you this? Preach My Gospel: A Guide to Missionary Service says that Heavenly Father “wants every one of His children to find peace in this life and a fulness of joy in His presence after this life. It is my purpose as a called and set apart servant of the Lord to “invite others to come unto Christ by helping them receive the restored gospel through faith in Jesus Christ and his atonement, repentance, baptism, receiving the gift of the Holy Ghost, and enduring to the end.” I know that by living the gospel that I preach I can come closer to my Heavenly Father and thereby bless my family and “honor my father and mother” both earthly and Heavenly. I know that you can begin now to live this gospel: to come unto Christ, repent, be baptized, and become as a little child. I invite you to meet with missionaries wherever you are. That decision will bless your life and your family. I testify of that in the name of Jesus Christ.

Amen.

❤ sister Myers

 

Leave a Reply

